COMMITTEE NAME: DEIPC MEETING DATE & TIME: OCTOBER 7, 2022 2:00 PM MEETING LOCATION: PARKS 108C

ATTENDANCE:

Мем	IBERS "P" den	otes Present, "A" denotes Absent, "R" denotes Regrets				
Р	Linda Bradley	P	Liz Speelman			
Р	Mikkel Christensen	A	Jessamyn Swan – has left Georgia College			
Р	Javier Francisco	R	Sandra Trujillo			
P Jennifer Graham		R	James "Trae" Welborn			
R	Leng Ling	R	Jen Yearwood			
Р	Nadirah Mayweather	Α	Lauren Schroeder			
А	Desaree Murden					
GUES	GUESTS					

AGENDA TOPIC (Committees should feel free to customize this template to make it as functional for them as possible. Other categories of topics might include Reports, Information Items, Unfinished Business, etc.)	DISCUSSIONS & CONCLUSIONS	ACTION OR RECOMMENDATIONS	FOLLOW-UP {including dates/responsible person, status (pending, ongoing, completed)}
I. Call to order	Linda shared that several members of the committee had sent in their regrets.		
Welcome	had bent in them regrets.		
II. Approval of Agenda		Approved	

III. Approval of Minutes		Approved minutes from 9/2/22	
IV. Old Business/Review of Actions/Recommendations			
1. Common Syllabus Statement regarding Diversity & Inclusion	There was some conversation via email prior to the meeting related to possible options for a syllabus statement based on examples from faculty on campus and the diversity statement on the Office of Inclusive Excellence (OIE) website. A Teams group had been created to share examples and comment between the members of DEIPC. The group discussed the difference between a required statement and opportunities for faculty to personalize what they write on their syllabi. The group liked the idea of using the diversity statement from the OIE and discussed the options of using parts of the statement or the statement as a whole. It was decided to recommend using the entire statement to be consistent and also recognize the work that had already gone into creating this statement. It was suggested that the OIE and the Center for Teaching & Learning might be able to provide support to faculty through professional development and faculty resources for those who might want to consider additional syllabus information beyond the statement.	At ECUS Linda Bradley is going to share the idea of adding the OIE diversity statement as a required syllabus statement. DEIPC would like for APC to review and consider co- sponsoring this motion.	
2. Teams Information	A Teams group has been created for DEIPC.		
3. Cleary Policy at GC	Linda has met with Shanoya Cordew, GC's Title IX officer, to introduce the committee and its members. Shanoya will be meeting with DEIPC on our November 4 th meeting.		
V. New Business Actions/Recommendations			
1. SGA Representative	Lauren Schroeder is joining DEIPC as the SGA Representative.		
2. Election of DEIPC Secretary for 2022-2023	Jessamyn Swan has left Georgia College and therefore has also left her role as Secretary of DEIPC. Liz Speelman was nominated and was made Secretary by acclamation.		
3. Bias Response	Jennifer Graham is hoping to have some information about bias response to bring to the next meeting.		Jennifer Graham will let Linda know if she will be able to talk about bias response at the next meeting.

VI. Next Meeting	Friday November 4, 2022, 2pm Parks 108C (OIE Conference Room)		
VII. Adjournment		Adjourned at 3:02pm	

Distribution(as determined in committee operating procedure – one possibility given): First; To Committee Membership for Review Second: Posted to the Minutes Website

Approved by:_____ Committee Chairperson (Including this Approval by chair at committee discretion)

Guidance

COMMITTEE NAME: DEIPC COMMITTEE OFFICERS: LINDA BRADLEY, TREY WELBORN, LIZ SPEELMAN ACADEMIC YEAR: <u>2022-2023</u>

AGGREGATE MEMBER ATTENDANCE AT COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR: "P" denotes Present, "A" denotes Absent, "R" denotes Regrets

Meeting Dates	9/2/22	10/7/22	11/4/22			
Linda Bradley	Р	Р				
Mikkel Christensen	R	Р				
Javier Francisco	А	P				
Jennifer Graham	Р	P				
Leng Ling	Р	R				
Nadirah Mayweather	Р	P				
Desaree Murden	A	A				
Lauren Schroeder	NA	A				
Liz Speelman	Р	P				
Jessamyn Swan	Р	NA				
Sandra Trujillo	Р	R				
James Trae Welborn	Р	R				
Jen Yearwood	R	R				

CHAIRPERSON SIGNATURE

DATE _____-

(Including this Approval by chair at committee discretion)