University Senate Summary

Last Updated 26 February 2021

University Senate Membership

  • The University Senate has 50 members.
  • The Provost (Chief Academic Officer) and University President each hold ex officio non-voting positions on the University Senate
  • There are 47 Voting Members
    • 37 Elected Faculty Senators
    • 4 Selected Staff Senators
    • 2 Selected Student Senators
    • 5 Presidential Appointees

University Senate Committees

  • ECUS (Executive Committee University Senate) has three functions:
    1. Steering committee of University Senate
    2. Faculty advisory to the University President
    3. Faculty advisory to the Provost

Standing Committees

  • DEIPC (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Policy Committee)
  • RPIPC (Resources, Planning, and Institutional Policy Committee)
  • SAPC (Student Affairs Policy Committee)
  • Committees for Academic Policy
    • FAPC (Faculty Affairs Policy Committee)
    • APC (Academic Policy Committee)
  • Each of the committees for academic policy (APC,  FAPC) has eleven (11) to thirteen (13) members allocated as follows:
    • 9 to 11 Corps of Instruction Faculty
    • 1 Chief Academic Officer Designee
    • 1 Presidential Appointee
  • The memberships of the other three standing committees (DEIPC, RPIPC, SAPC) include faculty, staff, and student representatives in addition to a chief officer designee and Presidential Appointee.

University Senate Functions

  • Faculty governance body with university-wide membership.
    • Has Faculty Legislative Authority.
    • Policy-Recommending Assembly.
    • Advisory Role
  • The University Senate strives to be mindful and respectful of matters that are more appropriately handled by the academic units (college, school, department, etc.) and divisions, yet may make recommendations concerning matters within these areas that have broader institutional impact or implications.

University Senate Policy

  • A policy is a statement of record that governs the conduct of the university community and/or embodies a general principle that guides University affairs.
  • There are three categories of University Policy with which the University Senate is concerned.
    1. Academic Policy
    2. Non-Academic Policy for Students
    3. Institutional Policy